It’s beginning to look a lot like… I want to eat all the things!

Oh Thanksgiving and Christmas… and New Year’s Eve… you make me want to eat all the things. I imagine this is what a recovering alcoholic feels like when someone sets down a perfect cocktail in front of them. I have no reservations saying that I am a food addict. I love it. I have to have it. While I’ve managed to train my brain to desire healthier options over the past year, that does not make me immune to the season’s treats. I’ve managed to get through the races, Thanksgiving and a week long cruise and lost half a pound. That in itself, while a tiny amount, is a friggin miracle because it’s essentially maintenance. Now I’m faced with the next 3 weeks of Christmas temptations coming at me from every angle. My student’s parents are sending in baked goods left and right. There are parties and treats being thrown in my face at almost every turn. I am being strong, but I feel so weak. I know that if I allow myself a nibble that often leads to a binge. I’ll eat all the things. The only way for me to stand a chance is to allow myself a day(s) to enjoy these things before getting right back to tracking my food on MyFitnessPal like my life depends on it. I’m also looking for healthier copycat recipes for the things I am craving during this season.

Aside from all that, I am also struggling in my workouts. I think I’m just in a rut and need to try something new. I used to push myself to do a little more, but lately I’m skating by doing the minimum. My plans is to do the 21 day Fix again after the new year. That’s what got me kick-started to drop the pounds, so I think it’s smart to start the year off with that program. If you’re interested in doing it with me, let me know!

Ok, enough whining. I need to start prepping dinner.

Leave a Reply

