S-T-U-B-B-O-R-N

Stubborn. I am so much. Every month, or so, I have the same weight fluctuations and every month I let it get to my head. I’m not sure why I can’t accept that these things happen, they are out of my control, and they pass. Mercy!

Since the last update,

I ran my first 5k and have since upped my running endurance to 25mins at a time. When you think back to 3 months ago when the 90sec intervals were kicking my butt, this is just amazing to me. I try to run 3 days a week now. I don’t always run the straight 25, but my intervals I do now are still such a milestone for me.

My trainer decided to stop doing personal training, so I went back to another trainer I had used in the past. They are both excellent, but very different in their training styles. With the trainer I use now,  our sessions are outdoors at a park which I actually like a lot. The sweatier I get, the harder I feel like I worked.

The diet is still Weight Watchers SmartPoints, but if I’m being honest, the calorie intake is so similar to what I was doing that I’ll probably switch back to calories and IIFYM after my contract with WW is up.  I’ve found that I really think my body responds well to carb-cycling every now and then. If you’re not sure what carb-cycling is, basically you drastically reduce your carb intake for a day or two then slowly bring them back.

I’ve discovered some of my new most favorite things:

  1. Image result for flat out wraps
  2. Image result for premier protein shakes
  3. Image result for walden caramel sauce

1. Flatout Wraps: These are only 2 WW Smart Points and they are so soft and delicious. We use them for wraps, but we also load them up and stick them flat on a stone to make flatbread pizzas.

2. Premier Protein Shakes: Only 2 WW Smart Points. I like to go to Starbucks and order two shots of espresso on a lot of ice in a venti cup and pour a Chocolate Premier Protein Shake in on top of it. It’s a protein packed Mocha! There’s a Caramel Premier Protein Shake that I’d like to try too, but it is difficult to find in stores.

3. Walden Farms Caramel Syrup: 0 WW Smart Points. I put it on waffles, in my coffee, etc. It’s not regular caramel. It’s watery and it doesn’t taste amazing, but it does the trick to give me the fix I need when I’m craving something caramel(ish)

Meals for this week include: Steaks, Tasty Shrimp and Asparagus, FlatBread BBQ Chicken Pizza, Turkey Club Wraps (using inhouse Hatch roasted turkey lunchmeat and Hatch bacon from HEB), Honey Lime Pork Loin, Teriyaki Pork Chops, and Turkey Frittata. All of these recipes and inspiration can be found on my Healthy Recipes Pinterest board.

I’ll try not to go 3 weeks without updating after I post this.

Take care (of yourself)!

Leave a Reply

